Fake News

Fake news is not news you disagree with.

"Fake news" is "fabricated information that mimics news media content in form but not in organizational process or intent. Fake-news outlets, in turn, lack the news media's editorial norms and processes for ensuring the accuracy and credibility of information. Fake news overlaps with other information disorders, such as misinformation (false or misleading information) and disinformation (false information that is purposely spread to deceive people)."
[David M. J. Lazer, et al., "The Science of Fake News," Science 09 Mar 2018: Vol. 359, Issue 6380, pp. 1094-1096.].

We live in the digital age of information. At the click of a button, we have access to millions of resources online. But can we trust all of this information? Unfortunately, no.

There has been an increase in recent years of fake news. But what is fake news? Fake news can be described as propaganda, a hoax, and/or disinformation that is purposely spread and published as real news – often using social media – with the intent to mislead for political or financial gains. Fake news will often utilize eye-catching headlines and images to increase sharing and views.

There is a lot of information online, and that will only continue to increase. As more things become accessible online, we have to remain vigilant of what is credible and what is not. It is up to us to be responsible enough to determine what is real and what is fake. Take advantage of the simple advice, easy credibility checks, and the many resources at your disposal to win the war on fake news.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. It offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more. Furthermore, this database includes over 3,000 author profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.

MasterFILE Premier

Contains full-text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

Points of View Reference Center

Provides pro/con arguments on over 280 topics, with over 1,300 essays, magazines, newspapers, news transcripts, & primary source documents.

Click on Discover@MSU to search for books within Garnett Library.

Suggested searches:

Fake news
Social media
Disinformation
Online manipulation
Hoaxes
Deepfakes
Deception - social aspects
Truthfulness and falsehood
Denialism
Deception