Avoiding Plagiarism
This guide provides an overview of what plagiarism is and what methods (such as quotes and paraphrasing) can be used to avoid committing plagiarism.
Helpful Books
Combating Plagiarism : A Hands-On Guide for Librarians, Teachers, and Students by
Terry Darr's book is full of tested concepts for teaching these complex topics, emphasizing our modern reliance on digital sources. An extensive student reference section covers common knowledge, fact, and opinion. A wealth of practical resources includes real-life examples from research papers as well as plenty of instructional materials, exercises, and lesson plans.
They Say / I Say by
The book that has taught millions of students to present their arguments as a response to what "they say" has been expanded to define as broadly as possible who's included in "they." Readings demonstrate the moves that matter in academic writing and represent a multitude of perspectives. The Fourth Edition includes an anthology of 40 readings--half of which are NEW--that will prompt students to listen, think, and write about five important issues, including NEW "How Can We Bridge the Differences That Divide Us?"
Helpful Links
- Avoiding Plagiarism - Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)A general overview of plagiarism created by the Purdue Online Writing Lab at Purdue University.
- GrammarlyGrammarly is a helpful and free writing tool that checks for spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors. There is also a paid, premium version that offers additional features.
- Harvard Guide to Using SourcesThis guide provides additional information about plagiarism and how to avoid it.
- Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing - Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)The Online Writing Lab (OWL) website is intended to help you become more comfortable with the uses of and distinctions among quotations, paraphrases, and summaries.
Citation Managers
Citation managers are tools developed to help record, store, and create various citations. Some of the most popular managers are RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero. Visit our Citation Help guide for additional information and videos on Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote Basic.
- Zotero Citation ManagerZotero is a free, open-source web browser extension. It can capture full reference information for resources found in online databases, Google Scholar, and on certain publisher websites, and then saves this to your personal Zotero Library. You can add notes, tags, attachments, and keywords to these saved references in the library.
- Mendeley Reference ManagerMendeley is a citation management and paper-sharing software program with both desktop and web-based components. The web-based portion, called Mendeley Online Library, allows users to save entries from any computer and add them to Mendeley Desktop Library at a later time. You can add notes, tags, attachments, and keywords to these saved references.
- EndNote Basic Citation ManagerEndNote Basic (also called EndNote Online) is a free, online version of the popular EndNote citation management system. EndNote Basic provides storage and organization features for up to 50,000 references. The University of Southern Mississippi students, faculty, and staff can get EndNote Basic after creating an account within the Web of Science database.
Attribution
This guide was adapted with permission from The University of Southern Mississippi University Libraries Avoiding Plagiarism Research Guide.
Garnett Library Research Guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, MSU-WP Garnett Library (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.