American History
Discover@MSU
Find articles, books, and other materials in one comprehensive search.
Tips for Finding Books
The library has many sources that may be of interest when exploring early American history.
Always try searching Discover@MSU first, you'll be surprised what you find!
Here are just a few examples of useful subject headings to use when searching the catalog. Go to Advanced Search and type in your term(s), then in the dropdown box change it to SU Subject Terms, then click search.
United States History Colonial Period Ca 1600 1775 Sources
United States History Revolution 1775 1783 Sources
United States Foreign Relations 1775 1783 Sources
United States -- Politics and government -- 1775-1783.
North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
Great Britain -- Colonies -- America
Indians of North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Social aspects
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Influence.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1775-1783.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1783-1809.
North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
Great Britain -- Colonies -- America
United States History Revolution 1775 1783 Foreign Public Opinion British
Indians of North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
United States History 1783-1815
Pequot War 1636-1638
Note: You can sort your results by date to get the items oldest (or newest) first in your results lists.
eBook Reference Sources
The 9/11 Encyclopedia by Provides information on the events leading up to September 11, 2001, the day itself, its aftermath, and theories as to why it happened and its impact on American society.
Archaeology in America by Provides for archaeological information on over 300 sites in North America, including the history of the people who left the artifacts.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Provides over 1000 entries on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Provides over 5,800 articles on every aspect of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by Describes the role of religion in the political, social, cultural, and historical framework of North America.
The Encyclopedia of War, 5 Volume Set by Spanning the history of warfare from ancient times to present day, including topics ranging from tribal warfare to chemical warfare, pacifism, and war crimes.
History of American Presidential Elections, 1789-2008 by Covering all U.S. Presidential elections from 1789-2008, this resource provides historical analyses of the campaigns, conventions, and candidates for each election.
Native Peoples - A to ZThis encyclopedic resource covers the history, culture, and social organization of Native Americans in both North and South America.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Missouri State University-West Plains students, faculty, and staff to request items that are not freely available from the MSU Libraries, databases, or general internet sources.
History Book Call Numbers
E - History: America and United States
11-143 America
151-909 United States
F - History: United States Local & America
1-975 United States local history
1001-1145.2 British America (including Canada) Dutch America
1170 French America
1201-3799 Latin America. Spanish America
