Open Access Resources

• Census of Agriculture Historical Archive

  Public archive of Census of Agriculture publications published 1840-2012 in PDF format.

• Digital Coast: Office of Coastal Management (NOAA) Data Registry

  Data, tools, training, and info for coastal management professionals and researchers. From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

• FAOSTAT

  Agricultural and food related data from over 245 countries and territories, as compiled by the United Nations' Food and Agriculture Organization.

• USDA Census of Agriculture

  The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about U.S farms and ranches and the people that operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.

• Data.gov

  Here you can find data related to climate change that can help inform and prepare America’s communities, businesses, and citizens.

• NOAA Climate.gov

  NOAA Climate.gov provides timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate science, adaptation, and mitigation.

• AMECO Annual Macro-Economic Database

  Contains economic data for EU member states, the euro area, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries for a total of over 40 countries.

• American Community Survey

  The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities.

• Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Union

  Provides high-quality European statistics to policy makers, businesses, researchers, and the public at large.

• FDIC Data & Statistics

  Access structural and aggregated financial information & quarterly reports on specific FDIC-insured institutions, their branches, and the industry.

• Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) data

  Provides information regarding home mortgage lending activity.

• Innovations for Poverty Action

  Non-profit data analysis organization which works with a variety of universities, foundations, and NGOs on poverty related projects (financing, education, environment, development, etc.)

• International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data

  Data on IMF lending, exchange rates, trade statistics and other economic and financial indicators.

• National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) Housing Data

  NAHB has compiled some of the most popular regional and local tables, including permit data, employment information, and new and existing homes sold by region.

• National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

  NBER data collection here is an eclectic mix of public use economic, demographic, and enterprise data obtained over the years.

• Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Statistics

  Stats for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.

• Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)

  Contains data on factors such as poverty, income, employment, household composition, government program participation, and health insurance coverage

• The Foreign Assistance Dashboard 

  USAID data--Explains where U.S. foreign aid is invested in over 100 countries.

• U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis

  Interactive national, international, regional economic data or industry statistics.

• U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data

  Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics.

• U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission

  Futures and options markets data

• World Bank

  A compilation of international development indicators and socio-economic data.

• World Investment Report (UNCTAD)

  World Investment Report focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels and emerging measures to improve its contribution to development.

• Childstats.gov

  A summary of national indicators in Federal data on children and families.

• KidsCount Data Center

  Explore hundreds of measures of well-being for kids across the nation, or in your state, city, or community.

• NAEP State Profiles

  State Profiles presents key data about each state's performance in the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) in mathematics, reading, writing, and science for grades 4, 8, and 12 (where applicable).

• Nation's Report Card

  The Nation's Report Card presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.

• National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

  NCES collects and analyzes all types of data related to education in the U.S. and other nations, including prevalence of students in special education. You can create and export lists of schools, colleges and libraries based on state and/or other criteria.

• UNICEF

  UNICEF’s Data Team is the global go-to for data on children. It leads the collection, validation, analysis, use and communication of the most statistically sound, internationally comparable data on the situation of children and women around the world.

• United Nations Educational, Scientific and and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Data Centre

  Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication for more than 200 countries and territories

NATIONAL

• American National Election Studies (ANES)

  Contains data on voting, public opinion and political participation. 

• Election Administration and Voting Survey and Data Sets

  Data and analyses of US elections, including data on presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections, political parties, campaigns, and demographic information.

• Federal Election Commission Data Catalog

  See how candidates and committees raise and spend money in federal elections.

• Harvard Election Data Archive

  A space to share and improve election data. Contains data on election results, voting behavior, and electoral politics at the state, county and district level.

• Historical Election Returns Datasets, 1788-1990

  Four ICPSR studies that provide datasets of electoral returns for approx. 90% of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative for all parties and candidates 1788-1990. Most returns are at the county level.

• Library of Congress U.S. Election Statistics: A Resource Guide

  A list of online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections.

INTERNATIONAL

• CEPPS Election Guide

  Information on international elections: Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout.

• Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)

  Contains approximately 2025 election results from 180 countries and territories at a constituency level for lower house legislative elections. 

• Global Elections Database

  Build data sets on national and subnational elections around the world 1940s-2010s. Accessible in multiple formats: spreadsheets, tables and GIS maps.

• BP Reports & Sustainability Data

  BP, one of the world's largest energy companies, publishes statistical reviews of world energy, projections and historical data.

• Energy Sector Management Assistance Program (ESMAP)

  Data on environmentally sustainable energy programs in developing countries.

• International Energy Agency (IEA)

  The IEA provides the world’s most authoritative and comprehensive source of global energy data.

• Joint Organisations Data Initiative (JODI)

  Monthly data for the biggest oil producing and consuming countries.

• Nuclear Energy Agency

  Contains both experimental and evaluated nuclear data including nuclear reaction ((the properties of interacting nuclei, e.g. cross sections) and nuclear structure (the properties of single nuclei) data.

• U.S. Energy Information Administration Data 

  Company level data on the supply and disposition of natural gas in the United States, Electric power data collected by surveys, international energy statistics, energy country profiles for 217 countries, state and territory energy profiles for the U.S., financial data collected from major energy producers, short-term and historical energy outlook data & projections, and real energy prices.

• UN Energy Statistics Database

  Provides energy data for more than 215 countries, areas and regions on the production, trade and intermediate and final consumption for primary and secondary conventional, non-conventional and new and renewable sources of energy from 1990 onwards.

• UN Energy Statistics Yearbook

  The Energy Statistics Yearbook is a series of annual compilations of internationally comparable statistics summarizing world energy trends.

• World Resources Institute

  Provides data sets on energy, climate, forests, water, & sustainability. Uses advances in data and technology to help researchers improve lives, protect nature, and ensure just transitions.

• Aquastat (FAO)

  U.S. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) global water information system on water resources and agricultural water management.

• Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)

  CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

• Digital Coast: Office of Coastal Management (NOAA) Data Registry

  Data, tools, training, and info for coastal management professionals and researchers. From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

• Earth Policy Institute Data Center

  Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, society, natural systems, climate, energy, transportation, food & agriculture, and economy & policy.

• GapMinder

  Social, economic, and environmental data from around the world

• NOAA's National Climatic Data Center

  Provides datasets and climate reports (land-based stations, satallite, radal, modelling, weather balloons, marine/ocian, paleoclimatology, and severe weather).

• UN Water Statistics

  United Nations agency providing data on fresh water issues around the globe.

• United Nations Climate Change Portal

  Provides global data on historical and future climate, vulnerabilities, and impacts.

• World Resources Institute Datasets

  Provides datasets, maps, data visualizations, charts, and graphs on environmental issues.

CDC National Survey Collections

Public health statistics

• Dryad

  Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable.

• HealthData.gov

  Datasets, tools, and applications gathered from agencies across the Federal government on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

• HIV/AIDS Database

  Data from countries and areas of the world with at least 5,000 population, with the exception of the United States and its territories, on the prevalence of HIV infection and AIDS cases and deaths.

• National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

  Contains current data from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), birth and mortality detail files, National Immunization Survey, Longitudinal Study of Aging, and National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)

• NIH Data Repositories

  NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse.

• Caselaw Access Project

  The Caselaw Access Project (CAP) expands public access to U.S. law from 1658-2020, including all state courts, federal courts, and territorial courts for American Samoa, Dakota Territory, Guam, Native American Courts, Navajo Nation, and the Northern Mariana Islands. The project's goal is to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online.

• Humanitarian Data Exchange

  Find, share and use humanitarian data all in one place.

• Mapping Past Societies

  Provides data on Roman and Medieval Civilizations.

• National Prisoner Statistics, 1978-2011

  The National Prisoner Statistics (NPS) data collection began in 1926 in response to a congressional mandate to gather information on persons incarcerated in state and federal prisons.

• Nixon White House Recordings

  This dataset provides information about the Nixon Administration’s White House Tapes

• Pew Research Center Datasets

  Datasets from the Pew Research Center.

• ICTWSS Database

  Database covers four key elements of modern political economies in advanced capitalist societies: Institutional Characteristics of Trade Unions, Wage Setting, State Intervention and Social Pacts in 49 countries between1960 and 2010

• International Labour Organization

  International labor statistics, standards, key indicators of the labor market, labor force surveys, safety, work conditions, child labor, and labor legislation.

• OECD Employment database

  Contains international policies and data on employment, health, families and children, pension systems, international migration and other social policies and data. Downloadable files in Excel, CSV, PC-axis, or XML.

• Social Security Online

  Highlights the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries. Public use data downloadable as TXT or SAS zip files.

• UNCTAD Stat

  Information on international trade and economic development trends, markets, and labor force.

• United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)

  Provides international labor force and wage information and other economic statistics (1990-present).

• American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)

  Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

• Child Welfare

  These resources provide State and national statistics on child and family well-being indicators, such as health, child care, education, income, and marriage.

• Data.gov

  Data.gov is the Federal government's one-stop shop for data of all kinds, including GIS and scientific data.

• Disability Statistics

  Major statistical data sources on disability

• DoD PERSONNEL AND MILITARY CASUALTY STATISTICS 

  Military casualty data and Active Duty military/civilian personnel statistics by rank/grade, service totals, service by Region/Country.

• Explore Census Data

  Provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing, and businesses.

• General Social Survey

  A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.

• Human Development Report

  Human Development Reports (HDRs) have been released most years since 1990 and have explored different themes through the human development approach. They have had an extensive influence on development debate worldwide.

• ICPSR & Archive

  Contains useful datasets for political and social research. Download options include ASCII, ASCII+, SAS, SPSS, Stata. Note: Creating a MyData account is free, necessary to download most data from ICPSR, and does not require you to be associated with an ICPSR member institution.

• Kids Count Data Book

  Assesses child well-being nationally via 16 key indicators 1990-present

• National Center for Children in Poverty

  The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.

• National Centre for Social Research

  Data and research studies cover all areas of social policy in the UK.

• Office of Immigration Statistics

  Compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).

• Oxford Poverty & Human Development Initiative

  Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.

• United Nations Data

  A portal to search UN data from a wide variety of UN agencies.

• United Nations Demographic Yearbook

  International statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce.

• WomenStats - International

  Create a free account to search and download statistics on a wide variety of issues related to women

• World Bank

  A compilation of international development indicators and socio-economic data.

• World Development Report

  Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.

• World Factbook (CIA) 

  The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

• CERN Open Data Portal

  CERN is providing access to their data in 2 ways: educational, using predesigned analytical tools, and research, using a virtual environment to do the data analysis

• iDigBio (Integrated Digitized Biocollections Database)

  Multiple US institutions are contributing specimen records and data to this massive site (including UConn). A tutorial is available.

• NASA Earth Data

  NASA's Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program oversees the life cycle of NASA’s Earth science data — from acquisition through processing and distribution. The primary goal of ESDS is to maximize the scientific return from NASA's missions and experiments for research and applied scientists, decision makers, and society at large.

• NASA Planetary Data System (PDS) Datasets

  The PDS archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.

• Natural History Museum (of London) data portal

  Digitized specimens from the Museum's collection database, with 5,404,653 records from the Museum's Entomology, Zoology, Botany, Palaeontology, and Mineralogy collections.

• re3data

  A searchable collection of research data repositories. DOIs available for citing datasets.