Nursing

AccessMedicine

Provides variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with access to videos and animations, images for diagnosis, self-assessment, and medical textbooks.

CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (8 user limit)

CINAHL with Full Text provides citations and full-text articles published in nursing journals, including information on consumer health, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.

Cochrane Library

Four medical databases which contain results and reviews on the health care effects of evidence-based clinical trials and research studies.

MEDLINE

A bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present.

Oxford Reference Online (1 user limit)

Provides over 225 fully-indexed, cross-searchable subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

PsycINFO

Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.

PubMed

An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. Covers medicine, health care, biological and physical sciences, humanities, etc. PubMed is the free government software for the database.Coverage is 1965 to the present.

Salem Health

Salem Health is the online version of five resources: Magill's Medical Guide, Psychology & Mental Health, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Addictions & Substance Abuse, and Infectious Diseases & Conditions.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection

Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.

STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library (Varies from 1-5 users)

An easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals, providing access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions.

U.S. Health Policy and Politics: A Documentary History

With excerpts from approximately150 primary source documents, this resource provides useful background information on all aspects of the health care industry.

Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. 

Draw It To Know It

The database contains four principal components: tutorials, slides, a brain atlas, and muscle-nerve illustrations. The tutorials and slides focus on 24 subsections of overall human neuroanatomy. The brain atlas, allow users to view cross sections of human neuroanatomy. The muscle-nerve component provides a schematic of specific muscle nerve interaction along with labeled anatomical photographs to illustrate the area under discussion.

Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online provides access to select comprehensive and interdisciplinary journal titles containing authoritative, peer-reviewed journal articles across many research disciplines including agriculture, life sciences, medicine, psychology, and social sciences.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Missouri State University-West Plains students, faculty, and staff to request items that are not freely available from the MSU Libraries, databases, or general internet sources.

Place, review, and download requests

Use connector words

• dogs AND cats
• dogs OR cats
• dogs NOT cats

Truncation(*): find all endings of a word

• nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
• farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
• music* (musician, musical, musicality)